Secretaría de Energía

México Federal Government, Ministry of Energy

International Affairs and Investment Promotion Office
Direction for International Cooperation


Latin American Energy Organization (OLADE by its acronym in Spanish)

The Latin American Energy Organization was created in 1973, through the Lima Agreement, as a mechanism for Latin American and Caribbean countries to develop their energy resources and jointly attend issues regarding efficient and rational use of energy in order to contribute to their economic and social development.

Its member countries are: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Perú, Surinam, Uruguay, Venezuela, Barbados, Cuba, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama and Mexico.

Its mission is to promote agreements between its member countries and carry out actions to satisfy their energy needs through the sustainable development obtained from the different sources of energy. Its vision is to be the political and technical support organization to member states to undertake common efforts to achieve integration and development in the regional energy market.
Mexico, with eight other countries, is part of Directive Committee which is in charge of assessing, following-up and approving the programs and actions undertake by the Organization. The maximum managing body is the Meeting of Ministers that gathers once a year to evaluate the activities carried out and approve the strategies and lines of action of the Organization for the following year.
Every year OLADE organizes four regional events in different areas: biofuels, energy efficiency, carbon market and regional integration. It also provides information and official energy statistics related to the different member countries. Since 2006 through virtual courses, workshops and seminars, it has trained more than 900 professionals in topics like electricity, hydrocarbons, natural and liquefied gas, renewable energy and energy efficiency, among others.

For more information, please visit the following website:

Mesoamerican Energy Integration Program (MEIP)

On December 13th, 2005, through the Declaration of Cancun, the Presidents of Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama and Mexico undertook the commitment to implement a Mesoamerican Energy Integration Program.
The core objective of the initiative is to carry out actions to promote efficiency and rational usage of energy, harmonization of regulations, as well as to develop projects to integrate the policies and programs of the different member countries to enhance energy security in the region.

The strategic areas where projects are developed encompass the following: better access to fuel resources, expansion and integration of electricity and natural gas markets, and promotion of renewable energy and energy efficiency. These activities are supported by the Inter- American Development Bank (IADB), the Central American Bank for Economic Integration (CABEI), the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) and other international agencies.

Memorandum of Understanding (MoU)


The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on Energy Cooperation between Mexico and Brazil was signed by the Mexican Ministry of Energy and the Brazilian Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Brazil, on August 2007.

The objective of the MoU is to undertake actions of cooperation in the energy sector regarding public policies, regulatory regimes and administration practices. For this purpose, it was agreed to exchange information, organized seminars and undertake joint research on biofuels, oil and gas exploration and production, liquefied natural gas, energy efficiency, and technological development, among others.

For more information, please visit the following website:


The Memorandum of Understanding of Electric Interconnection between Mexico and Guatemala was signed on May 2003, by the Ministry of Energy and Mines of Guatemala and the Ministry of Energy of Mexico.

Its main objective is to establish the general conditions for the construction, maintenance, operation and exploitation of the electric interconnection between Mexico and Guatemala. The project consists of a high-voltage, cross-border transmission line between the two countries. The 103 km line runs between Tapachula in the southern Mexican state of Chiapas and Los Brillantes, substation near the town of Retaleleu in Guatemala.

With this project it is expected to unify and interconnect the electricity market, promote investment and reduce prices, contributing to the economic integration and competitiveness of the Mesoamerican region. The line will complement the Central American Electric Interconnection System (SIEPAC, for its acronyms in Spanish).


¿La informacion que consultaste
te fue de util ?


Insurgentes Sur #890 Col. Del Valle,
Del Benito Juárez Distrito Federal
CP. 03100, Tel. (55) 5000 6000


Algunos Derechos Reservados 2014